Nelliampathy – My First HDR Collection


At last here comes my set of HDR collection, I’ve been advised from many blog visitors, friends and my brother that its time for me to start shooting some HDR photos. I really never got that exact feel and spot to start it till now. Recently I was out of station to Palakkad, Kerala for a friend’s wedding and I somehow managed to visit this place.

It was a harsh, sunny and sweaty day, yet HDR really defined it to a whole new level, I think πŸ™‚

Please, please feel free to criticize my work and this is the first time I’m shooting such a thing.

Nelliampathy HDR 2

Nelliampathy HDR 4

Nelliampathy HDR 6

Nelliampathy HDR 8

70 thoughts on “Nelliampathy – My First HDR Collection

  1. Nice pictures Naresh! Most photographers click pictures of backwaters in Kerala, you tried something different. I am not into HDR so can’t really give many suggestions. I liked all of them, the last one being my favourite!

  2. I’d never heard of HDR photography until you mentioned it here and I looked it up on Wikipedia. Do you have to take several exposures of the same scene? Anyway, of the photos here, #2 and #4 are the most interesting to me; #2 because the enhanced definition of the bridge/walk makes me feel as though I am standing there on it, and #4 because of the beautiful, almost supernatural feeling it creates–as though one had eneterd Shangri-La.

    1. Oh! That is so kind of you for your pleasing comments πŸ™‚ Thank you !!! And yeah HDR is done by making 3 photos with 3 different exposure levels (like -2, 0, +2 the value can be changed depending on the situation that you are in) or you can shoot a RAW image and then split them in Photoshop or Corel as you would like. Thanks again!!!

      1. I’m glad that Anne asked that question, because I didn’t know how HDR photos were made. Most of the ones I’ve seen look overprocessed, but yours look very natural and beautiful!

        THANKS for subscribing to my funny-caption photoblog and leaving a β€œlike”! I hope I can bring you a smile (or at least a groan) every weekday.
        –John R.: http://TheDailyGraff.com

  3. Many thanks to follow my blog Naresh and I do the same. There are a lot of interesting things in your blog. About HDR, I agree with the result. It’s very soft. You live in a nice country and I falled in love with “Incredible India” after my trip in the Rajasthan, Kerala and Karnataka. I hope to return in the future.
    Friendly
    Alain

  4. Hi Naresh,
    I have never tried HDR myself but I thought yours looked superbly natural and not overly processed. I love the third photo of the tree and the second one I was drawn to the gentle curves and colours of the shore line. Loving your work! Sharon

  5. Stunning shots! Love the first one. And having lived on a tea plantation for a while, the last is a natural favourite. Thank you for stopping by my blog earlier and leading me to yours Naresh. Look forward to exploring your lovely site πŸ™‚

  6. Wonderful pictures. Looks normal beautiful pictures. So how did you do it? It that (HDR) is not a trade secret. I am curious. May be you can write a detailed post about it. Looking forward.

    1. The usual HDR technique. In a gist, take a good tripod, place it at the right spot where you can get the focus and all the compositions that you desire for the picture to be. Shoot 3 pictures in three different exposure levels. Like -2, 0 and +2 (these values are not fixed, it may vary as you’d like the lighting and imagination to be). Now you need to combine these 3 pictures using some HDR software. I used Corel Paintshop Pro for the processing. Then the regular post processing work that you’d like. TA DA you are done πŸ™‚ Its that simple !!!! No Secrets πŸ™‚

  7. Great pic πŸ™‚ # 3 catched my eye for a longer. If I can make a suggestion, taking the picture I would move (ofcourse if I could) so there would not be any mountain behind the tree and then turn the picture into HDR B&W πŸ™‚ The photo really has the potentail !!!!

  8. I can offer nothing apart from a round of applause and a gush of awe. The photos invite goosebumps and a desire to be there at that moment. Your images have captured me as well as a moment in time. More please!

  9. Naresh-these are lovely-given the conditions in which you were taking your pictures, I thought you did a great job. I love the detail of the bridge in the first image and the skies and the clouds in each are beautiful-keep at it!

  10. Lovely photos! I especially like the tree–and personally, I like the shape of the mountain behind half of it. But I’m partial to tree photos. Thank you for the visit and the follow. I’m strictly a point and shoot with the camera at hand person; but I love good photography, and yours is that!

  11. I love HDRs, Naresh, and these are very nice. Thanks for the follow. Most of my macros and studio photos are HDRs as well including the one I posted today! I’m just learning about them, but I love the intensity of them. What software are you using? I use Photomatix.
    Cathy

    1. I used Corel Paintshop Pro in these pictures. I think they did the job well….Thanks a lot for those kind comments….you’ve got an amazing blog!!!! Cheers! Keep in touch πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks a lot Judy! I was very keen from square one that the content of the picture should not be over taken by the HDR effect. I tried to keep it as minimum as possible. Couple of friends where like – “I dont even think people will believe this is even a HDR, it so minimum. You need to enhance it further”. But you know what my answer would’ve been seeing these photographs πŸ™‚

  12. I like the detail that the HDR has brought out in the wall in the first shot – it provides a nice foil to what would otherwise be ‘another nice landscape shot’.

  13. Probably over-stating the obvious here but well done on your use of HDR. So many of these do look over processed, I really enjoy how you use it to pull us into the photographs. The last one doesn’t spin my wheels so much. I really look forward to seeing more from you!

Leave a Reply

